Westland Wasp HAS 1: 1/24th Scale.

TheBaron

Hello all.

Having been pointed to this forum by @Anthony in NZ, I thought I might share the development of a current project I've been working on for several months now, in the shape of a Westland Wasp at 1/24th scale.

Up until recently I've not done anything siginificant modelling-wise above 1/72nd scale, so astonished at the quality of work in larger scales which you're all creating on this forum, and which I hope to catch up with in due course.

As you'll see from the images below I'm using CAD to create the initial designs from a combination of maintenance manuals and photography, with the bulk of the helicopter being 3D printed. No one medium is entirely capable of reproducing everything however, so glazing will be produced from vacforms and smaller/thinner elements (where strength is at a premium) will be from brass PE and tubing.

These have proven the most useful items of historical, operational  and technical documentatioto rely upon for background information on the subject:

AP-101C-0601-3A Wasp HAS 1 Illustrated parts manual

T. L. Ciastula: The Development of the P.531, The Aeronautical Journal / Volume 68 / Issue 642 / June 1964

D. B. Bathurst: Maritime VSTOL — The Development of Small Ship Helicopter Operations in the Royal Navy,

SAE Transactions Vol. 83, Section 3: 740525–740863 (1974)

L. B. Bryson, F. E. Heenan, C. A. Johnson: Helicopters in the Royal Navy, The Aeronautical Journal / Volume 76 / Issue 740 / August 1972

J. H. Stevens: Scout and Wasp - Westland's All-British Helicopters,  Flight International June 1964

Adrian Balch: Westland Scout & Wasp, Warpaint Series No.110, Guideline Publications. 2017

Larry Jeram-Croft, Terry Martin: The Royal Navy Wasp: An Operational & Retirement History, Pen & Sword Aviation 2018.