Focus Stacking for better model photographs

Smithers66

Hi all, new here to the forums and looking to contribute before I start peppering y'all with questions. B)

Below is a link to a brief tutorial I created for using the technique of FOCUS STACKING for making sure all parts of the model/image are in sharp focus.

I am happy to discuss further and answer any questions.

https://imgur.com/a/WPQ2rn7

Edited by Smithers66
bad link

Welcome Smithers!...and thanks a lot for the article.

My modelling friend does this now, and his images look just superb!....he has tried to explain to me how to do it, but I still haven't tried it yet, your article will come in very handy for me to try and understand the process.

Cheer's,

Jeff.

Welcome again to the forums.  Thank you much the the tips.  I do a lot of macro photography, and while I have gotten fairly good at managing depth of field issues, I think this program is worth a try.  Thank you again!

Ernest

I’ve been an avid photographer most of my adult life. I know my way around Photoshop, consider myself a camera enthusiast, and even had a photo studio for several years. 

In the past if I wanted everything in focus I simply got far enough away from the model and shot at f16 so the depth of field was deep enough so that everything was in focus. The problem with this approach is that the subject only occupies a relatively small portion of the frame, so you had to crop out a large number of pixels to isolate the model. This works great if you have a 16+ megapixel camera and only intend to post your picture on line at 800-1000 ppi. More on this later.

A few months ago I learned about focus stacking and thought it would be the ultimate solution to getting everything in focus and a frame filled with the model, but it’s not. The concept is flawed by Photoshop's AI and the laws of optics - allow me to explain.