A6M2b - Aftermarket Suggestions

Just got a great deal on the Tamiya kit ($78, delivered).  Kind of an impulse buy, I’ve got no knowledge of the kit or even of the aircraft itself.    Looking on suggestions for “must have” aftermarket.    Also looking for leads on decals.   I want to build a later-war Zero with some field-applied dark green applied.   Not having much luck finding decals of these aircraft.   Any tips are much appreciated.  

Posted (edited)

Well, there doesn’t seem to be a lot of decals available field a green/grey A6M2 Model 21.  You may find  one scheme on a zero sheet at Fineartofdecals.com but be warned, they’re very expensive.  Other than that, Montex masks probably has at least one set of masks for a camouflaged 21.  

If you’re not adverse to using masks and can make your own, I’d recommend Pacific Profiles No. 5. , by Mike Claringbold.  There’s lots of profiles in that book for green 21s.  Theres also the option of up scaling a set of 1/48 decals if that helps?

Edited by Juggernut

5 hours ago, Juggernut said:

If you’re not adverse to using masks and can make your own, I’d recommend Pacific Profiles No. 5. , by Mike Claringbold.  There’s lots of profiles in that book for green 21s.

+1 for the Pacific Profiles book - I got the inspiration for my Rabaul Zero-Sen from there and there's plenty more to chose from.
Regarding aftermarket:
Replacing the vinyl tires was/is a must for me. I went with the nice ones form Miryoku, although shipping them to the US might be a dealbreaker.
But then Tim (Juggernut) might be able to print a set for you?

If you want to enhance the cockpit:
Sean's wonderful build  has all the necessary scratch buildung for a Nakajima A6M2. I mostly went with the Quinta bits, but be warned: they don't really match any of the interior colours out there, so custom mixing to match the shade of green is required.