First time realizations

NavyMech06

So I picked up the Tamiya Corsair and the Brassin engine and cockpit sets about a month ago and recently decided to start on the resin. This is my first time working with resin and was surprised how brittle it was. Is this a normal characteristic to resin? or is it just Brassin from Eduard? Both the engine set and cockpit have parts that I've looked at the wrong way and they've broken. I love the detail they bring but I'm not entirely sure I'm sold on the benefit of using resin if its this big of a pain to use it.

Also I've come to the realization that I HATE CA glue. I always end up making a mess of things. The thin CA goes everywhere when using the tips, I can never get enough on the part when using applicators, the medium stuff just glues my fingers to everything, my Touch-n-Flow clogs up if its in the same room as CA glue, accelerator or kicker just gunks up the area i'm gluing. I know there's a way to do it since I see it all the time on models around here. Sometimes I think I get the hang of it, set the model down, walk away, come back and its in pieces glued to the cutting mat.

Is there some kind of initiation because I'm definitely down to drink the Kool-Ade.

Sand or file the eye of a sowing needle down until you break through making a U shape, cut the end off an old paint brush, drill a hole in the end and glue the pointy end of the needle into the handle.

Flip an old Model Master paint bottle upside down and pour a drop or two of the thin CA into the dish of the paint bottle bottom.  Dip the U of the needle to pick up some thin CA and apply where needed. When the U gets clogged with dry glue use a cigarette lighter to burn the glue off but be extremely careful not to inhale the fumes.

Thin CA made easy!

HTH

Ron

Guest Peterpools

Follow Ron's advice on how to apply CA ... I did a few years ago and it works like a charm every time.

Peter

Edited by Peterpools