Hasegawa FW-190D "Late Version"

Rampenfest

Hello all,

First off, I want to say that I have been browsing here for a few months as I am dipping my toes into 1/32 scale. There are so many amazing resources, builds, and craftsmanship here. I decided to join in on the fun.

I recently bought Hasegawa's FW-190D late version which has the larger TA-152 style tail. 

I could not resist the elegant look of the box art and decided to buy it. I think it is pretty well known that the molding and fit is pretty good so I will skip all the "box opening" sprue pictures.

xks7yvt.jpg

I know that it is well known that the kit has a few shape issues. As this is my first dive into 1/32, I am going to keep it relatively simple. I am just going to be building it as is with the exception of some scratch built detail, Eduard masks for the canopy, 1man army masks, and some aftermarket seatbelts. 

First off, one detail I decided to add are the cowl flap actuators. To do this I first cut off some very small pieces of styrene rod.

xS08k4e.jpg

Next, I drill out holes in the cowl flaps for the styrene rods to sit in.

ok9rpmW.jpg

I then take some Tamiya Extra Thin and place some in the holes, then place in my piece of styrene. 

TCjfe1Z.jpg

After every piece I did a quick dry test fit to make sure the rods sat where I wanted at a correct angle while the glue dried. I found a few had to be longer than others.

kwLXaj8.jpg

And the final result! 

CzXMmmn.jpg

78YRlFu.jpg

I think it adds some visual interest to the cowl area, especially in this scale. It may not be 100% accurate as far as the arms go, but I think it is better than having nothing there!

Thanks, and more to come.

Edited by Rampenfest
Pictures

UuuUuuh!!! :wub:

that's what I call a good start! Having just finished a similar kit (by the way, where did you find it? It seems to be disappeared, from on line shops!).