LSP main page - why stop at 2011?

ziggyfoos

KotY was discontinued after 2011 (due to lack of active member participation), and main page has never yet been changed to fill (with new material), what would be a huge void if it were removed. That's the word I get behind the scenes.

Every one seams to like the Tamiya F4U-1 Corsair, Lets make it kit of the year for 2012. We also can try to start the Kit Of The Year again?  Where was the Voting placed in the forums?  I'm fairly new to LSP and would like to participate in the voting. :innocent:

Cheers

Unfortunately, I don't think that's going to happen.  Here is the last one.  Participation in the last three KOTY polls (2009, 2010 & 2011) was so low that us staff opted not to continue with them. They are a huge amount of work to compile, researching all the releases over the year the categories etc many wouldn't vote because they didn't own all the kits etc etc.

Too much work for to little return.  LSP_Matt prepared the 2009 poll and turn out was low, LSP_Kev did the 2010 poll and turn out was low, I did the 2011 poll and turn out was low so that pretty much killed the concept.

LSP_Ron

I always thought the KOTY polls/results were fun to look at. However, I can see how participation was limited. In my own situation, I find that I can't even come close to purchasing enough new kits every year to give myself an idea of what the "best" one is. Let's not even talk about BUILDING all of them! So, as much as I would love to participate in a poll such as that, I just don't feel qualified to give an educated vote. I would imagine that many here are of the same opinion. Sure, I have my favorite subjects, but that alone can't really be "kit" of the year, in my eyes. There's a lot more to it than just being a subject that I like.

Looking on the bright side, though, I'm actually happy that there are too many to choose from. Most of the dreams I had as a young modeler have come true, or been far exceeded. :speak_cool:

My .02