Best Harrier & Phantom kits

Bill Cross

I am acquiring almost no new kits these days - doing this kind of build leaves little time (or cash) for much else - but I remain very attached to the gray & blue Harrier with the large roundels, and the Phantom was the plane of my youth during the Vietnam era.

I figure the Trumpeter kit is the way to go for the Harrier, but all the options seem to be Marine Corps (gray) and later RAF (gray, small roundels).

With the Phantom, I presume one of the Tamiya's are in order, but not sure which is the kit with the least problems.

• Are there major issues with one or all?
  • Do they need extensive corrections?
  • Besides Eduard PE for things like instrument panels, what is needed?

And what other AM goodies would be required/recommended?

I'm a novice in jets, so I'm putty in your collective hands.

Thanks, I believe Trumpy has three Harrier kits. The review you reference is the AV-8B. Am I to presume the others suffer proportionally and equally?

And can any of the kits be camoed with the blue & gray combo with large roundels? I don't even know which version that might be. Sorry for my ignorance.

I can't really help with your questions regarding the Harrier, as I know next to nothing about the aircraft, but the Tamiys Rhino kits are great, and there's a fair amount of AM available to trick them out;... BB and Aires pits, burner cans from a few different sources, decals out the wazoo, etc. Also, I really like your Panther.

Thanks, Kevin. There are four Tamiya Phantoms (five if you include the JASDF kit). Is any one better than the others?

I'm not tied to any particular variant or branch of service. My dad was a Marine, but a supply officer, not a jet jockey. If all things are equal, I suppose I would go with kit 60308, but that's why I'm asking around here: you guys are the experts, and I respect your opinions (all 5,381 of them, LOL).