What with all the recent hubbub about AI taking over the air to air mission, I have a question.  Is the plan to leave all the flying to the black boxes or will, at least initially, there still be a mammalian overseer on board?  I ask this because most pilots worthy of their ticket loath riding shotgun.  Let it be known that I am a pilot but not a zipper-suited sky god like some.  Still, when jinking about on a fine day, I much prefer being the jinker vice a hapless jinkee strapped in nearby because the ride is so much better.  I know what I am going to do so I am already ready when I do it whereas whoever else is riding along is always a tick or so behind both me and the airplane.  This can be both annoying and uncomfortable.  Imagine, if you will, a time when a rated fighter pilot has little more to do in a dog fight than clench his butt cheeks and grunt like he is passing a watermelon because his airplane is doing all the work without his help or permission.  Not only is this morally wrong but who in their right mind would voluntarily do such a thing?  Who would ride shotgun to a clockwork gizmo without complaint?  Certainly not any fighter pilot I know.  And at the end of the day, who gets busted if the fight goes wrong?  Will they ground the computer?  Not likely.  And what happens if Otto gets all full of himself and, in the heat of the moment, pulls enough Gs to turn the onboard minder into so much currant jelly?  Then what?  I am old and fuddly but I see nothing good coming of all this AI stuff.  Airplanes are born with sticks and rudder pedals and throttles and places for a person to sit for a reason - they are there for real people to poke and wiggle in order to maintain controlled flight above the ground and for good folks like us to model and argue about.  Anything else is Armageddon.