LF instructions for AMS P-47M please

oyoy5

I'm no expert, but I believe the idea was to use one or the other, not both, depending on which model you are building. Whichever one you choose goes on the little square part in the middle directly on top of the gear case, then you use the kit parts on either side of it. Someone please correct me if I'm wrong. 

26 minutes ago, BiggTim said:

I'm no expert, but I believe the idea was to use one or the other, not both, depending on which model you are building. Whichever one you choose goes on the little square part in the middle directly on top of the gear case, then you use the kit parts on either side of it. Someone please correct me if I'm wrong. 

If the set is the former AMS 32124 (and I think it is), the Bendix-Scintilla dual magneto and Prop Governor in that set is what I highlighted in my previous post.  They are used on both the P-47M and P-47N (although the N model did use engines other than the R2800-57).  In short, you need both.

The distributors (which are on either side of the dual magneto) are not correct in either P-47 kit (the D or the M) but are closer in the D kit.  If you want the correctly shaped distributors, you'll need to purchase the engine sprue from the Tamiya F4U-1A or -1D kit (Sprue H) which will also provide you with the Bendinx-Scintilla dual magneto and prop governor.  It will not however, provide you with the C series prop reduction gear case that'll be needed.  The only way to get that item is to use a Trumpeter part, source Sprue K from the long OOP Hasegawa P-47M kit, or find a Vector R-2800 late engine and hope that it fits on the Hasegawa cylinders (it looks too small in the package to my eye).

Edited by Juggernut