Me 262 Stormbird

martin.bavaria

Hi guys,

it's been a long time! I got kind of stuck with the Junkers, but what's best with lack of motivation? Start another build!

Okay, put the JU to the "hall of shame" and grab another kit! By mistake I ordered the Me 262 two times... Uhm, one A-1a ("Schwalbe", "Swallow") and one A-2a ("Sturmvogel", "Stormbird"). For the "Schwalbe" I got some aftermarket but I thought it would be nice to do a ooB with the "Sturmvogel" first: kind of a test build to see fitting issues and stuff. One last thing: I started the build half a year ago and posted some progress in a german board, but I thought it would be nice to show some pictures here... and I'm a slow builder! :closedeyes:

A short story about the build: the idea is to show an abandoned plane left somewhere near the "Autobahn" in summer 1945, not really a wreck but we all know the pictures of planes aligned along the motorway. Maybe I'm doing a small base with some GIs just having found the stormbird...

I talk the talk, but now walk the walk...

First the belts: I got the PE belts from Eduard and some spare belts from Radu. But look yourself: I just love the Radu-belts. So the Eduard go into the test build! ;)

A001.jpg

Radu left, Eduard right... I painted the Radu with acrylics.

And now some impressions from the working area of the pilot...

A002.jpg

A003.jpg

A004.jpg

A005.jpg

A006.jpg

Painting done, some filtering, some washes (still wet on the pictures...)

That's not the current state... I'll be posting more, step by step! ;)

Thanks for looking, I hope you like it!

A short story about the build: the idea is to show an abandoned plane left somewhere near the "Autobahn" in summer 1945, not really a wreck but we all know the pictures of planes aligned along the motorway. Maybe I'm doing a small base with some GIs just having found the stormbird...

Yes, I like it.