how to preshade

Guest life long modeler

Guest life long modeler

this is my first time trying this method can someone please tell me how much to thin the paint and what pressure to use I am using a iwata revolution and a paschae single action

my thought is the preshade should be fairly dark like a 3 to 1 paint thin mix and the color coats 2 to 4 paint mix please help

For what it's worth I use Tamiya's Nato Black thinned down about 50/50 or so. Nothing scientific. I spray it with my Iwata HP-CS at 20 psi or so. You could use RLM66 also. Or black. Or brown, whatever, just try not to cover it up too much with the final coat. Pre-shading works but there are a few schools of thought on it. This is just my opinion.

Good Luck,

Matt

Hi presading is just take your time and use colors Thin down the paint and when you put it on just take your time realy a big aircraft takes time here white paint to presade the dis colering and salt.

When i put on paint I all ways use my hands to get the overspray a way dry paint to let it get a silk clow.

Here some pictures how I did it.

use dirfrend shades of the color and if you use Transparente mattlack to thin down your color you can relax more not to worry the color will be to high light to hard.

post-5365-1247777462.jpg

This takes me hours to do waiting( compressor Red hot) just filling in the little spots the more time you take the beter it looks.

some time I do a liight overspary to town down the efects.

post-5365-1247777640.jpg

Thing that I can never quite grasp with pre-shading is why it isn't just as easy to apply the top coat and then "over-shade" the panels with a slightly lighter colour? Requires the same amount of painting skill (you're simply painting the panels rather than the lines), you can vary the effects much more, and it's a closer replication of what happens to a real aircraft. Am I missing something? :wacko: