hawkenstien 3 .....finished

fightnjoe

i contemplate my next project.  

i have been looking alot at cutaway builds.  as i look at them i am drawn to the incredible skill needed to create a build that has such incredible detail.  now i wonder if i am capable of pulling off one of these.  

for it i would need a subject that i am somewhat familiar with.  easy.  the p-40 fits the bill very very well.  i have some knowledge of it and have a number of references for it.  next up will be am i up for such a challenge?  i think so, maybe, possibly, i hope ???.

so next up is what kit to do.  

i have the 1/48 revell/monogram p-40b. (used for hawkenstien 2)
i have the 1/32 hasegawa p-40e.
i have the 1/32 trumpeter p-40b.

they each have pros and cons.  

decisions, decisions.

i am thinking of a cutaway showing engine area, cockpit area, and area behind the pit.  so much i could do with the 1/32 stuff.  the revell kit however is inexpensive and i have no sorrow with cutting one up.  

well i have made the choice, i think.  

boxart_zps542e88f8.jpg

so with that choice made next up step one....

instructions call for the engine area to be worked on.  i think i am a bit away from that.  first for me is choosing where the cuts will be made to show some of the interior.

so.........

cuts_zps69a618cb.jpg

so onward and upward my friends.  onward and upward.  

just hope i do it justice.

joe

Edited by fightnjoe

ok folks we have sliced and diced a bit today and here is where we are.

first the slice....

cutting-done-1_zpscfdbb356.jpg

cutting-done-2_zps33eb6eee.jpg

i wanted to show some of the areas that have the most interest as well as giving a show to what is behind closed doors in the back.

now what took me most of the day.

ribbing-2_zps52d90c40.jpg

ribbing-1_zps766d2996.jpg

now i did notice one of the vertical pieces is off a bit.  fixed.  i also forgot to cut out the hatch on the oposite side.  no biggie.  i will get that done.