1/18TH JSI F-14B Tomcat conversion

A-10LOADER

I've been asked a few times about posting this project so, here she is. It's currently up on two other forums so bear with me as I bring everything over, it was started back in February of 2013,  and try to bring everyone up to where the project stands now.

I usually build 1/48th scale stuff and had no idea how involved this project would be. I am a slow builder as is plus, I suffer from SDS ( Super Detailers Syndrome ) and a perfectionist, all of which adds to the length of my builds. Throw in research as well and, you get the idea.

I hope you all enjoy this journey with me and feel free to comment, thanks.

Steve

Here is my 1/18th scale JSI VF-84 F-14A which I will be converting to a VF-103 low-viz B model because of the poor factory finish.

IMG_2996.jpg

Edited by A-10LOADER

Some resin F-110 exhaust nozzels.

IMG_2999.jpg

One down (RH tank), one to go. Seams scraped, filled and , ready for some primer.

IMG_3000.jpg

After much wet sanding the horizontal stab on the left is just about done. Instead of filling the seams I deceided to eliminate them all together, just like on the actual jet. The real ones were one piece boron fiber. I was able to get the edges much thinner to which, looks much better IMO

IMG_3013.jpg

Radome fitted, glued in place and, wet sanded.

IMG_3014.jpg

Seams filled, awaiting more wet sanding.

IMG_3015.jpg

After much trial and error, and referring to Danny Coreman's book "Uncovering the Grumman F-14A/B/D Tomcat", I think I got it. Here are my paper templates for the tail stiffeners. I will use .010" sheet plastic and "layer" them just like the picture shows.

IMG_3017.jpg