IAF F-16I SUFA UPDATE: 5/17/14: PAINTING AND CAMMO

Guest Peterpools

Guest Peterpools

UPDATE 1/4/14: THE OPENING ROUND

With just a few bits left to add , Old Crow my P-51D build will be finished and in the books. I've been wanting to do the Sufa for quite some time and with the GB for Foreign or Captured Aircraft, what better time! My build plan as always: enhance the kit with After Market products but leave the basic kit as is. While Academy has done a fine job with the Sufa, I planned on upgrading the kit with:

Wolfpacks' resin cockpit set which looks to be very extensive.

Wolfpack;s Sufa Exterior Set

Aires Wheel Bay set

Aires Exhaust Nozzle set

I've never used any Wolfpack products before and am eager to see how they are. On an initial peek, the sets appear very well done.

The key for me is the reference material and in this case, the much sought after book: F-16I Sufa in IAF Service from IsraDecal. I just want to thank Mark (mark31) for allowing me to purchase the book and mailing to me so quickly.

I'm still not sure about purchasing the Eduard sets yet but I'll se as I go.

Thanks for checking in

Peter

The Kit

PCW_4495_zps630388f2.jpg

Nice packaged and well protected

PCW_4499_zps2433a5db.jpg

Gorgeous Cartograph Decals: pickout which scheme to use is not going to be easy!

PCW_4500_zps3c3c099c.jpg

After market Sets

PCW_4496_zps21b5f1b3.jpg

Reference - Thanks again Mark

PCW_4498_zps2310033b.jpg

Edited by Peterpools

Nice subject Peter! I'm putting the finishing touches on my F-16D kit and I'm really eager to see how you, Put the Smack Down on this kit! As Daywalker mentioned, The Sufa is powered by the Pratt & Whitney 229 engine. Not meaning to bash the Aires nozzle, But if you choose to use it,  Be awhare that the nozzle is over scale for the resin donut shroud. The nozzle itself, Is intended to fit the Tamiya shroud. I ran into this issue while building my D. Otherwise, The detail is extremely nice.