De Havilland Sea Venom - Revell (Matchbox) 1:32

Butler

Is it too late to join the GB at this last minute? If not, please feel free to move this to the normal members build area :lol:

I bought this kit cheap on ebay, the idea being to take it's engine for my Meteor build and sell the kit on at a discount. I'm pretty indifferent to this plane, however it's occured to me that I haven't had a chance to use the airbrush I got for Christmas yet ;)

I've never used an airbrush before and I don't really want my first go to be on one of my good builds, hence this!

I've only spent about 2 hours on this build so far and already got this far! This is going to be a very basic build - not adding any detail and spending the time on the paint finish.

I have to say I haven't experienced any of the fit issues I've heard about. With this in my mind I chose a slightly odd sequence to put the parts together - I built all of the fuselage and air intakes as one piece, built the wings and entire tail boom assembly as one piece, then glued the two parts together. I've been very lucky and all the parts have matched with minimal problems :lol:

post-4669-1234634986.jpg

Nice to see another one of your builds in progress Butler, and nice to see another Sea Venom too. Even though you've only just started yours, it looks like you'll beat mine to the finish line easily!

So you didn't have any fit issues with the left engine intake? I'm glad if you didn't, but it makes me feel even more ham-fisted than I already know I am!

:rolleyes:

Kev

I tested a few dry fittings and found that the fit really depends on the order the bits are put together. I settled on my method as it left the fewest gaps, although it differs greatly from the instructions!

I notice on your build that the intakes were already fitted by the previous owner. Is it possible they were fitted upsidedown? I ask because they are almost interchangeable left and right, but not quite.