P-47 Olive Drab Question - "Little Bunny"

So I think my next build will be an Italian-based P-47D named "Little Bunny".   This jug had a very interesting scheme of heavily weathered OD with large patches of fresh (or maybe "less weathered" OD applied.  Here is what I believe is a pretty authentic color picture of the real thing, this was provided in the instructions from the Eagle Cals decal set.  Just note that the Eagle Cals comments about this aircraft being in RAF Dark Green appear to be inaccurate.  

tOEjcKw.jpg

Here's a very nice B&W picture that also shows the contrast between the two colors.  Note the darker OD on the rudder along with even darker patches.

dazHQZ3.jpg

So first off - a full disclaimer.  I'm a novice when it comes to OD, I honestly do not think I've done a USAAF aircraft in OD since I was a teenager.  The first reference I stumbled upon was Dana Bell's awesome book on USAAF paint jobs.   Like all of his stuff, I highly recommend it.  For this project,  I'm trying to figure out what fresh OD looked like.  Here's a nice picture that shows heavily weathered OD and some patches of fresh OD, this might be pretty close to the way Little Bunny looked:

Am5raYY.jpg

The problem is that I also stumbled upon this version of the same picture (note the darker exposure which makes the new OD much "greener":

0NPIkv6.jpg

Side note, a month or so after this picture was taken, Schnozzle was lost with her entire crew when she had a mid-air with another B-17 in the traffic patter over her base while returning from a mission.

So my question is - which of these two pictures do you guys think shows a correct tone for fresh OD?   I know this is opening a big can o'worms but any guidance (or even educated guesses) is much appreciated. 

Edited by John1

• John1 changed the title to P-47 Olive Drab Question - "Little Bunny"

Hi John,