Sign in to follow this  
LSP_K2

AliExpress ordering?

Thanks a bunch, fellas, I appreciate the input. They have a computer component that I really want for the "transplant" of my old HP guts into a new case.

Hello Kevin,

I usually do not post in this forum.  I have follow all the build posting here for many many years. 

Your inquiry here is one I have a lot of experience with.  I have deal with AliExpress for a long long time.  Here are some rules I go by for not getting burn.  Quite similar to dealing with any online vendor. E-Bay, Amazon, . . . .   

1)  I NEVER place an order with any of their vendors that don't have a rating of at least 98% or higher.

2)  The vendor has to have some history.  Has to be with AliExpress for over 4-5 years and over 1000 minimum transactions.  

3)  Always look for other vendors that might carry the same item under a different description.  AliExpress's vendors have some of the very creative ways of listing the same item. 

4)  when come to shipping, you have a choice.  Always click and view your choices.  I as a rule always pick ePacket (sometimes free shipping, other times I have to pay shipping).  ePacket is the best, in my experience, because it will reference a USPS tracking number once it is log into USPS system.  You can track your package.  ePacket shipping time is 2-3 weeks, from anywhere in China to West coast USA, the fastest compared with others.  If ePacket is not an option,  pick one that have a tracking number where you can track your order.  If not ePacket, some orders can take up to 60 + days to arrive,  just be aware.

5) if unfortunately you get burn, AliExpress's customer services is very good.  I have gotten a full refund on 2 orders I received with issues.  It is handle via online chat.

6)  the packaging.  The way the vendor package the item for shipping is hit and miss, from my experiences.  Some pack very good.  Others just put the item in a cheap plastic shipping bag with no packing material.