Airbrush question

Bstarr3

I've been using a Badger Patriot 105 for a few years. It's a fine brush - adequate for most jobs and certainly my skill level. But I think I've gotten good enough that I'd like to try a better tool. In the $150-175 range I am looking at the Iwata HP-CS and the Grex xGi3 (or xSi - any opinions on side feed vs traditional gravity feed?). For slightly cheaper the Badger Krome also seems to get good marks. Both the Grex and the Krome have an adjustable trigger stop, which seems like it would be helpful for fine line detail, while the Iwata doesn't. Any opinions on these brushes? I'm really not wanting to jump up in price to the H&S brushes, and I've heard that they are very fragile as far as the needles. I'm also interested in easy cleaning, as keeping your brush thoroughly clean is really one of the keys to having it perform as it should. How are these products to clean, in general, or compared to the Patriot? Thanks

My “go-to” airbrush was an H&S Infinity CR+ until I bought a Sparmax  GP35. The pistol grip and trigger of the latter makes using it so much more natural than the conventional “pencil grip” airbrush. I can’t recommend the Sparmax highly enough and it has all the features you’re looking for including ease of cleaning, a 2 minute thorough job.

Edited by mozart

I've got 3 main ABs: Infinity H&S, Iwata HP-CS, and an Iwata Neo top feed pistol grip.

The H&S is king for fine lines, but I've gone through more than 5 needles with my clutzy hands, the Iwata Neo is a great choice for larger jobs with a nice pistol grip and a low price. Its a bit more complex to clean though, but its low cost offsets that IMHO.