Sign in to follow this  
steinerman

Newbe's greetings and large scale modeling history

Posted (edited)

First, a bit of introduction as to who I am. My name is Larry Steiner and I live in Grand Rapids, Michigan. I'm a retired electrical/controls/computer engineer who gave up my 60 hour a week job 10 years ago. I'm 76 years old, married to the same woman for 52 years, no children but we have 2 small Cairn terrors (Oops, I mean terriers), both of whom are rescue dogs. My hobbies are photography (I have a Canon DSLR and am a member of the Grand Rapids Camera Club), computers (building & repairing), gardening, and remodeling our home (My wife has the mother of all "Honey-Do" lists!) And also, since I'm a foamer, I also run Microsoft Train Simulator on my computer. What, you mean to tell me you don't know what a foamer is? It's a person who foams at the mouth at the sight of a train!

OK, I'm sure you are wondering what the @^%$*& is this greenhorn model builder doing joining a forum of large scale aircraft? Well, I built tons of kits as a kid and over succeeding years I’ve built several large kits of all kinds; aircraft, trucks, cars, and ships. However, I would not call myself a true “Modeler” as they were mostly OOB and, to be honest, quite poorly done.

Then, about 15 years ago, I bought the Scarab 38KV kit from Dumas boats. For those of you who don't know, this is a radio controlled model of a 38 ft Wellcraft Scarab racing boat. Those of you who remember 'Miami Vice" - well, this was Don Johnson's boat. It took me several years and a couple thousand dollars, but I did turn this into the Miami Vice boat. It was 60 inches in length, powered by a 15 CC gas/nitro racing engine, and topped out at about 35 MPH (actual). Since this is a large scale “anything goes” forum, I'd like to take a minute and show you a few pics of this Scarab I built.