Sign in to follow this  
tomprobert

Kids and the future of modelling

As some of you may already know, I am a teacher at a primary school in Kent, in south-east England. We have an 'activities programme' at my school, where staff are encouraged to run clubs, so I decided to start up a model making club about 5 years ago.

I have been astonished with the interest in this club, and I currently have 25 members who come along every Tuesday evening for an hour and we happily build away! I could easily have a lot more, but sadly Health and Safety gets in the way. I buy Airfix starter packs in bulk initially, but then many go out and buy their own and bring them along too.

The picture below was taken at the end of last term, during our final meet before the holidays. I ran and end of year competition, with the best model winning an Airfix 1/72nd scale Lancaster.

43890706065_a988fa3362_z.jpgIMG_6759 by Thomas Probert, on Flickr

As you can see, for 9-10 year olds the standard is pretty high - I don't worry at all about accuracy and whether they're painting them the correct colours - to me the most important thing is to light a spark and hope it progresses to a young person getting hooked on the hobby. The parents absolutely love it too, and often comment about how pleased they are that their children are enjoying it so much and not playing computer games as much, instead they're at the dining room table roping dad into helping them build their Spitfire!

From my point of view, the future of the hobby is good - there's a lot of interest out there and it just needs to be explored.

Tom

Well done Tom, get 'em young!  I did exactly the same when I was teaching (happily retired from teaching now for 8 years!) in my primary school in Weymouth, and I also found the level of interest and involvement high, but it's good to hear that in the intervening period with more and more "cyber diversions" that some kids still want to be hands on!