The one that got away

Scotsman

Ever had a kit that won’t be built

I mean one that , despite your best efforts simply won’t allow its self to be completed to your satisfaction . In my safe the model in question is the Academy 1/32 Sufa, and the Videos posted this week served to re-enforce my view that this is one model I’ll never complete properly.

I bought the model when it first came out , built is with as many extras as were available, Resin U/C bay , Cockpit, external enhancement set , Brass , the usual. No Intake or Engine exhaust at that stage , thank goodness other the price of the project would have been closet to £300!.

Anyway build went fine, no issues at all really , I chose a weapons load out on the extreme side, and we’re off to paint.

And that’s where the fun started  , not I’m an ok painter r, but I can’t free hand Camo, I’ve tried, and it just doesn’t work for me , and the camo of the Sufa, with those dratted conformal tanks.. AARGH…I painted it , the camo pattern sucked, touch it up with paint brush, it still sucked, sand down effected parts and repaint , Ugh… Eventually I threw in the town, decaled it, matted it , loaded the weapons, and tried to ignore it.

Ever had an itch that wouldn’t go away.. Yup for me it was this model

6 months later out comes the paint stripper, and we go to work.. Oh man what a mess….

A week later and the weapons are off, and so is the paint, oh and most of the surface detail on the model

By this time I’d built a few IAF F-16’s and I was pretty relaxed about the camo , so off we go again , and yes it was better this time round, sort of , not perfect , but at least I could stand to be in the same room as it for more than 10 mins without wanting to “Improve” the paint job.

On went the decals,  on went the ,by now,  rather beaten up weapons ,  and just for good measure I glued the canopy down in the closed position .  Ok now let’s leave it….