Iwata LPH 80 Tips? Suggestions?

Adam D

Hello everyone.

I'm new to the forum and the hobby. I have followed Paul Budzik's suggestions and have had great success with my airbrushing. I now have a new spray gun and need some help.

I am using MRP lacquer paints and primer, which by the way are fantastic in my opinion especially for a beginner like me and I don't want to ever use anything else!

When I use the LPH 80 should I aim for one full wet coat with each pass or two thin coats for the same area? My hope is that two or three thin coats would be suitable because I seem to have more control but I'm not sure if I am getting the most out of the gun using it that way. Thank you very much in advance.

Adam

Welcome to the forums!

Im no expert on MRP paints but have used them consistently for the past few months and have a fairly extensive supply of them now. One advantage to MRP paints to me is they are IMHO, very difficult to get to run or pool if you have the PSI set to around 15 - 25 PSI and dont have the airbrush trigger set to shoot "full blast" so to speak.  I usually tweaked/cranked down to 0 with NO movement, then open things up 1/2 or 1 full crank at a time to shoot the bare minimum particulate. 

I tend to shoot 3 - 5 very thin coats at about 20 or 25 PSI out of my Iwata HP-CS.   MRP seems to shoot very nicely that way, and I have found one secret with MRP being so thin/pre-thinned, that a very light and especially a light neutral pre-coat ( I like using Tamiya fine white primer for this) goes a long way to not having to use a ton of MRP paint to cover things. Having a light/white base makes shooting yellows and other whites/light colors much easier. 

I like them as I can build up very light layers to good opacity, and yet not have to use a whole bottle on a single model (unless said LSP is REALLY "L")

Hi, welcome!