Jump to content
Dave Williams

Photobucket surrenders?

Recommended Posts

Even the $19.99 plan only offers 10GB of storage. That's next to nothing.

 

Flickr offer 1TB with 3rd party hosting for $0 a year. Or $5.99 amonth for a Pro account, with stats & no ads.

 

And with Smugmug merging with Flickr, I give Photobucket 6-9 months before it files for bankruptcy.  I can see no way whatsoever for them to recover. You cannot screw your customers over - and it was the most blatant, unethical piece of corporate bribery I've ever seen - and then go back and expect forgiveness.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Kev

I think the question should be: but for how long will PB leave the photos unlocked and available? I'm only guessing but I have a feeling, as post PB accounts are not reactivated and paid for, the FREE access will end.  :hmmm:

Peter

 

I have no idea. PB always had both free and paid memberships, so maybe it's permanent? Regardless, I downloaded all of my albums long ago (before they killed that feature too), so have copies of all of my images anyway.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Guest

I moved all of mine off PB, so it doesn't help any of my old threads, sadly.

 

Removing your images and/or cancelling your account does not

mean they're gone from PB. No one knows if they wiped any of

their servers for more room, but I doubt it. They had the 'right' to

retain all images. It's all in the fine print.

 

                      sn7S03G.jpg

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Posted (edited)

Removing your images and/or cancelling your account does not

mean they're gone from PB. No one knows if they wiped any of

their servers for more room, but I doubt it. They had the 'right' to

retain all images. It's all in the fine print.

Could be so. I just know that my old threads that had PB images in them do not work anymore, even though others are now working, so I'm assuming they are no longer there? Not sure.

 

PS, I checked, and they have no record of either of my email addresses, so I'm guessing I successfully deleted my account.

Edited by BiggTim

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I still maintain all my old pictures over there, but don't add anything new. I noticed that they also limited the amount of pop up ads they had on you, so the page runs much faster now. Instead of 7 or 8 ads totally slowing things down, only 1 or 2 come up now.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Posted (edited)

I just had a look on my (still current) account.

Definitely eating humble-pie!

:lol:

This "new" plan is exactly the same as the one I signed up for over 2 years ago so back to square one!

From the site:

 

"Photobucket has new management, and we are liberating your images!

As of today, your hosted images are live.

Photobucket has a new management team that wants to do the right thing. We are committed to earning back your trust and offering comprehensive and flexible image storage and hosting options for our customers. We’ve taken your feedback and made some changes to our pricing model that allows us to offer competitively priced plans that fit the needs of all of our customers.

Today, our current customers’ hosted images have been restored and Photobucket is introducing a new pricing plan that is built around everyone’s needs.

For a limited time, we are offering a new, competitive subscription package that includes ad-free storage and 3rd party image hosting for just $1.99 per month, or $19.99 per year - which is 95 percent less than the previous pricing model. A free subscription option will still be available to customers who do not require 3rd party image hosting.

In an effort to improve our customers’ experience, we’ve also moved away from an advertising-based model and have eliminated a portion of ads from the site.  

Photobucket pioneered the image sharing and hosting market 15 years ago, and our new management team is committed to returning Photobucket to the premier imaging service people had come to know and trust.  

There are more positive changes on the way, but for now we are excited to share this new compelling subscription option, as a testament to our dedication to you, our valued customers."

Edited by PhilB

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Posted (edited)

Phil..

 

I Already posted the FAQ ....see page 2.

 

:rofl:

Ooops.

Here we go.............delete , delete, delete.

:doh:

 

It's all Brian's fault anyway.

8 years ago he convinced me to join PB and now look at the mess.

:evil_laugh:

Edited by PhilB

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Wow, that's insane!  I mean not the part about it being my fault you joined, but the humble pie!  :lol:   I think we ALL saw this coming..................  me getting the blame for Phil joining PB.    :lol:

 

 

Oh yeah, and PB eating crow too

To use the toilet analogy.

Methinks they are in the pan with a hand hovering on the chain or handle for modern type stuff.

:) 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now

  • Recently Browsing   0 members

    No registered users viewing this page.

×