1/32 scratchbuilt Westland Whirlwind

ironman1945

Hi everyone. This is my first posting to "in the works"; I hope the picture transfers OK.

This is something I have been working on and off for the last 2 1/2 years; sort of a culmination of everything I have been reading about over the last 30 years. Fuselage is plastic plank on frame; flying surfaces are plastic laminated over balsa core.

Its my 5th build since getting back into the hobby... not that I ever really left; I have a large kit collection. Being in the Navy, I've just never been home much to build.

Will try and post more close up pictures later; hope you like it.

Dave

post-4-1124058078.jpg

;) ;) B) :D

Nice work Dave and great plane to do as well!

Love to see more pics...I reckon if you have piccies over the course of your build it'd make a great article for the site.

Cheers Matt

PS Which Navy?...

PPS Thanks for the lift :lol: ;) :ph34r: :ph34r: :ph34r: I'm Army

Hi everyone. Thanks for the very kind words; much appreciated. This is the first time I have attempted a full scratchbuild; while it can be very frustrating (the fuselage here is the 2nd one I attempted; the wings the 3rd), it is also very rewarding. Hey if I can do it so can you, so I encourage you to give it a go.

Answers to questions:

1) Drawings used were from the 4+ publication. I also have the drawings from the old Kookaburra publication; there are differences between the two. As I have read in the book "The Master Scracthbuilders" (by the way I highly recommend this book for anyone wanting to try this),one of the most difficult things is finding accurate plans. I did not go to the nth degree to verify the drawings, mainly beacuse I wanted to get on with it.

2) I am in the Canadian Navy; I am a Combat Systems Engineering Officer. In fact I am retiring this year after 20 years service; I have a position as a civilian Defence Department engineer doing pretty much the same thing.