1/32 CF104 Italeri

MikeA

Greetings from the cold bottom end of Australia,

This is my first WIP here, and I must admit to being somewhat in awe of the standard of work which seems to be the norm on LSP. I have been modelling on and off for many years now, but only just plucked up the courage to show a completed project here. I build very very slowly, so hopefully that will not prove frustrating to follow. I also like to try doing new, for me, stuff - so the ambition is prone to outrun the skill level.

As background, the core of my models are of aeroplanes of the de Havilland design, and typically 1/48. However, I do break out into 1/32 with particular subjects which catch my attention for whatever reason. This one was picked mainly as I wanted to try a NMF and it seems a suitably uncomplicated airframe to try that for the first time. I picked up the Italeri F104 G/S for a decent price and will see how it goes, having started on it about a month ago. Hopefully it ends up better off that a Flanker I started some years ago which tragically lost a dogfight with our Labrador puppy at the time. The Labrador remained in NZ whilst we relocated to Australia - not to escape the Labrador, but at least this model is relatively safe!

The photo below is the obligatory box art and two of the most significant pieces of "after-market" aids I came across. I love being able to get as much of my references out of books rather than on-line - just something about the feel and smell of a book full of great photos! The Daco Publications book is absolutely amazing as a reference. the Canadian Starfighters book is less useful for the detail of modelling but has loads of very clear photos and history of the Canadian aeroplanes. The Net is only really required to uncover the cockpit details of the Canadian starfighters, as the Daco book covers the German versions.

Box.jpg

Apart from the two books, the after-market details I have at hand are: