ScanmanDan

Martin XB-51

I'm going to try and combine the plans from a hand launched, rocket powered, tissue and balsa model with the drawings and parts from a scale paper model to make a Frankenstein monster of a XB-51. I hope that Russ would approve.

xb51.jpg

I've never tried to scratchbuild a whole plane before but thankfully the path was made clearer by the great folks on LSP. The Flying Flapjack that Russ build really got me thinking about this build and then Spacewolf brought out his M-20 to finally kick me in the pants.

I've made a start on the nose section. Built just like a tissue and balsa model except made of styrene. I then used Spacewolfs laminated strips of styrene to fill in where the tissue sections would normally be. Once I got the hang of it ( ie. Waiting for the glue to dry fully before trying to sand :BANGHEAD2:) it goes pretty quick. I've used too much putty and I can now see the value in Spacewolfs use of thinner strips of styrene to fill any resulting gaps. Still, it is going together and my plan is to rough out the whole of the fuselage and then go back and hack out the cockpit and wheelwells. I haven't a clue what I'll use for the canopy or wheels and I'm a little stumped for just what the cross section of the vertical tail should be. But hey, I'm having fun. :speak_cool:

roughhose.jpg

roughnosebottom.jpg

Not going to be super detailed or all that bang on for getting the shapes right. I still haven't got a great set of plans to work from but there are a lot of pictures available on the net. It should look close to a XB-51 once finished. Going to be a big sucker too! The goal is to have her finished before next years local Model Expo. It'll never win any contest but I think it will stand out in the crowd.

Thanks for looking.

Dan

Woohoo Dan! This is going to be such fun to watch. It looks like a fascinating subject too. You and Vaughn are really spoiling us in this GB. Perhaps we should do a scratch-build/vac GB some time.

Kev