RLM colors advice....

Porkbits

Hey, guys:

I'd post this question over on Guttorm's excellent Ju-88 detail thread, but I'm the New Guy, so can only post in General for the time being. :-)

So...which brand of paint do you guys use for your RLM colors? I typically use Model Master enamels, but I don't think they have staubgrau (for interior) and a couple of the other colors that I need for the Revell Ju-88. Xtracolor? Does Gunze offer a good lineup of RLM? Or another manufacturer that I don't know about? Or do you mix your own? Note that I live on the east coast of the States, so it would be nice if I didn't have to order from the UK (to save time and money), but I don't mind doing so.

Thanks so much....

Porkbits

PS--If this is a dumb/obvious question, sorry! I'm a German WWII aircraft newbie, so just point me in the right direction with a good kick in the $#%, if necessary.

Welcome to the forum, Porkbits.

Luckily the RLM colors are covered by almost all brands of paint. Personally i use either Xtra Color enamel or acrylic (available from Two Bob) or i use the Polly Scale colors. Both brands have great products and the shades are close to what the real colors look like.

Welcome to the forum, Porkbits.

Luckily the RLM colors are covered by almost all brands of paint. Personally i use either Xtra Color enamel or acrylic (available from Two Bob) or i use the Polly Scale colors. Both brands have great products and the shades are close to what the real colors look like.

Thanks so much, Erik.

I've never built in this large of a scale before, so I might be biting off more than I can chew. But with my twins due to arrive at the end of summer, I want to leave modeling (at least for a few years) with a big bang. :-)

In any event, I've used Xtracolor in a previous build and found the paint to be really thick and sticky. Is that typical of Xtracolor, or did I just get a bad batch?