Trumpy 1/32 F8F Thai AF Bearcat

Out2gtcha

Hello all!

I am new to the LSP forums, but have been making large scale planes my whole modeling career (cause as we ALL KNOW, bigger IS more beautiful in modeling) . I stopped modeling for whatever reason when I was in high school, and after a 15 or 20 year break, Im back into 1/32 scale modeling (with some 1/48 as well)

Since beginning this new modeling renaissance, I encountered an article called Foiling Plastic and Resin Model Kits for Realism by Ken Friend

After reading this article I was intrigued. So I bought a kit of my favorite subject (a 1/48 F7F-3 Tigercat....unfortunately only available in 1/32 vac....and a horrible kit at that), and got started foiling models with kitchen foil, glue and Ken's extremely helpful techniques.

From that point on, I was completely hooked. I really only have done 1 model in paint since. Foil can be a bit teadious at times, but no more so than a really superb paint job. However, the tecniques of foiling Ive found do take at least 3 or 4 models to perfect............and I still havnt perfected it yet.

However, the results (I think) turn out SO much better/more realistic than even the best metalizers, or powers out there, that even the average guy modeler like myself can get results that look like the real thing

This is my latest finished foil project, a 1/32 F8F-1 of the Royal Thai AF.

I have used a variety of kitchen foils, varying the side used (shiny or dull side) along with many different techniques to grain the foil, and some process for chemically altering the look of the foil, including some soaked in a special solution, and some panels of foil soaked in water that had of all things in it, hard boiled egg shells! Both of the latter processes turn the foil differing shades, from the multi-hue rainbow hues of metal put under tremendous heat, to the egg water treatment that turns the foil varying shads of platinum and gray depending on how long its left in the water.