Rescribing

This tutorial has been extracted from my Hasegawa 262 build and placed here for posterity.

I'll begin with a disclaimer that I'm not an expert at scribing, but do have quite a bit of experience now, and have learned a thing or two about the process. And given how many of these old Revell and Hasegawa kits I have in the stash, it's something I'll be doing a lot more of into the future. And just referring back to our recent thread about too little or too much in posts, this will definitely fall into the latter category!

OK, so we begin with the kit's upper wing sections, resplendent with raised detail:

h14WaW.jpg

The kit's raised detail actually isn't all that horrible, but that isn't the point. Off it comes:

fK4tIu.jpg

You'll notice that I haven't been particularly thorough with removing the raised detail. The point of this stage isn't so much to eliminate the raised detail entirely, as it is to simply remove it to the extent that it won't interfere with our rescribing efforts. It's actually of some value to leave some ghosting of the old detail in place, since we can use it as placement guides for the scribed lines. Be sure to check your references though, as any given kit's panel line detail may not be accurate! For my purposes I'm using the Trumpeter kit as a reference, and the two kits largely agree, though there are some differences.

Before getting into the rescribing process itself, let's take a look at some of the tools involved:

JbYsVd.jpg

While they should be self-explanatory, I'll run through them anyway (remember, too much information!). From left to right we have:

1. an old toothbrush for cleaning out the lines;

2. a pencil for marking line positions as necessary;

3. a 6-inch steel ruler, useful as a scribing guide, as well as measuring stuff;

4. a pin-vise with the pointy end of a needle clamped in place;

5. a generic hook-nosed scriber;

6. Radu's scribing tool;