1:32 Jet Blast Deflector for diorama

hpetiers

hello there!

As this is my first post on this forum, a quick intro might be appropriate for this topic: As builder of mainly modern US navy aircraft I have been confronted for the last few years with the complete lack of carrier deck equipment to make a nice diorama. Especially in the 1:32 scale.

Having been a CAD engineer by profession, I decided to look at a lot of photo's on the internet and try to design a jet blast feflector in CAD myself and have it 3D printed as a test. I figured in the end it would save me a lot of scratch building, and indeed it did. FIrst I ordered in 1:72 scale, but then a person from the US mailed me and asked me if I he can have it in 1:32, and sure he could. 

It cost me quite a few hours to get the mechanism right:

JBD%20scale%201_32%20sideview_zpsiy0pc5t

But after receiving it from Shapeways.com it all paid off:

DSC04107_zps0uonmjmq.jpg

The parts fit nicely together. By the way they are big!:

DSC04117_zpsdddpdpfa.jpg

I decided not to have all features printed because of the cost involved, but some polystyrene parts will be added:

DSC04123_zpsrvdeolpw.jpg

This is how far I got into the build so far.

The gentlemen ordered his print on the shapeways website in te meantime, I will continue this build and make the actuator arms moveable.

For those who are in desperate need of a JBD, I know how you feel. I published my model on shapeways.com

https://www.shapeways.com/product/U9XP8PZ2W/6-jet-blast-deflectors-1-32-scale?li=shop-results&optionId=57204594

This 3D printing will be the future ladies and gentlemen!

regards

Hugo

Now that's what I'm talking about...3D printing is going to change this hobby forever. It's no longer the game for the few...master builders, with extra and unique details that can only be replicated on their one and only model. If one knows CAD skills then sky is the limit. :)