Italeri CF-104 in foil *Updated* almost done !

FunkyZeit

Hey guys!

I'm going to join this build as I wait for some F-16 parts from a LSP member. The subject will be a CF-104 built from the new Italeri kit! Build will be OOB. I plan to do a high polish paintjob (which I have no experience with so I'll need your help!), the plane will be done "in-flight" to save on some time. I want to do this one up rather quickly.

My main problem is the kit does NOT include a Pilot.. so I may have to modify a tamiya f-16 pilot or a russian pilot.. What do you guys suggest?

6b8c4252-739c-46b2-9962-a8e17f3c69d5_zps

Stand by for updates!

Edited by FunkyZeit

Guest Jessie_C

You can't really, truly do a CF-104 straight from Italeri's box, but you can get close. Here's a thread which discusses some of the things you'll want to know. Also Italeri has never yet managed to get RCAF maple leaves correct. Luckily, Canuck Models does an excellent decal sheet with everything you'll need.

You can't really, truly do a CF-104 straight from Italeri's box, but you can get close. Here's a thread which discusses some of the things you'll want to know. Also Italeri has never yet managed to get RCAF maple leaves correct. Luckily, Canuck Models does an excellent decal sheet with everything you'll need.

It's very close though, I just got the kit yesterday. Slightly different instrument panel which nobody but the hard core CF-104 fan would notice. They don't offer the proper "fat" spoked wheel rims just fat solid ones or spoked thin ones.  That's all I've found so far that's really noticeable. 

Leading Edge models here in Calgary does a few nice decal sets for the kit. I reviewed one set yesterday which will be in "what's new" in the next few days

Leading Edge Link

Guest Jessie_C