Anyone build Japanese aircraft?

Cunumdrum61

I am thinking of expending my collection to include some Japanese aircraft from WWII. Are all the new Hasegawa kits good such as the Ki-64,Ki-84 and such? Anything to stay clear of? This is one area where I have limited knowledge.

Thanks in advance.

Edited by Cunumdrum61

Most of the Hasegawa releases of Japanese aircraft are fairly new releases and build up very nicely. The only exception would be the Zero which was released in the 70's, Tamiya's Zeke is much much better.

Guest Dekenba

I've got the Hasegawa Ki-84 - lovely kit that has got some nice paint choices. Pretty cheap as well.

Thanks for the feedback. I knew the Tamiya Zero was the best kit out there. I have a chance to pick up one of the Zeros with the sound action for about $150 which I think I will grab.

I have built the Tamiya Zero (AWESOME kit) and the Hasegawa Ki-84 (excellent kit too) and am working on the Hasegawa Ki-61 and J2M3 Raiden. The Tamiya Zero almost builds itself, and the Hasegawa kits are real gems too. If you are interested, check out the Alleycat 1/32 Ki-100 conversion set for the Hasegawa Ki-61- a superb resin set that is very well done indeed.