Revell Me-262 B-1/U-1 Nachtjäger

Jan_G

Untitled_zpsdxrfotnh.png

Hi guys,

this is my new project. It is the new Revell kit with aditional Eduard AM (brassin wheels, interior PE, exterior PE, pre coloured steel seat belts and masks)

I know that there is perfect detailed build thread already in WIP. My goal is to keep it as relaxing project next to my resin projects. I am no expert in Luftwaffe planes but I like almost all of them and Me 262 is one of my favourite. just beautiful plane (two seater as well  :))

I want to learn to paint late war Luftwaffe camo on this one, so will keep build simple and clean. And spend most time with painting and weathering. No open engine cowlings or gun bay. I will put more efort in detailing some visible parts like cockpit and engine intakes only.

build fundamentals...

IMG_1190_zpslt1ehwih.jpg

IMG_1192_zpspxfmx9hm.jpg

IMG_1193_zpsrmq7mcvn.jpg

have started with puting main fuselage parts together. I used metal pipes instead of plastic canons, because after I drilled muzzles on plastic parts I was not satisfied with results and want to save some extra space in gun bay for aditional weight. I am using Tamiya Extra Thin Cement for gluing which is IMHO superior for this job. Glued joints were not cleaned yet, but it will require only smooth sanding and some minor panel lines rescribing

IMG_1313_zpshe9szzj3.jpg

IMG_1314_zpstj5bn1ah.jpg

IMG_1316_zpsv2pxhbio.jpg

IMG_1318_zpsqmqvskle.jpg

I was really suprised that there are no fit issues so far. Everything fits together really well. And some clever engineering for open panels and especially for wing joints. just litlle cleaning and it fits together in perfect dihedral geometry. I like such simple approach  :thumbsup:

IMG_1321_zpsioeb2r5p.jpg

IMG_1319_zpsr5ndelfh.jpg

and dry fit test of wings and fuselage 

IMG_1322_zpsajjwdlvo.jpg

IMG_1323_zpsiaglmm53.jpg

IMG_1324_zpscfooym0r.jpg

thanks for looking and any comments are welcome

jan