Tamiya F-4J Phantom II VF-96 Showtime 100

Aircav1980

Well folks I am stepping out of my comfort zone with this one. This is my first attempt at a modern jet. Any suggestions would be appreciated. I am really exited about this one. It is quite a beautiful bird. I will be using GT resin seamless ducts. I am will be using Yellowhammer decals and an Aries resin cockpit. This one will be an adventure because I am not at all familiar with modern aircraft. Hopefully I will get this one done in less than a year. Be seeing you soon. 

IMG_0051_zpso1qbr7un.jpg

IMG_0052_zpsfyd8ld4p.jpg

IMG_0053_zpsugaoccuj.jpg

wow, just in time, this will be my next undertaking after my current build. i bought the backdating kit from GT Resin to backdate it to a F4b. Hope to pick up lots of tips and techniques from your build.

i am strapped in for this one.

thanks

The Aires cockpit is a major upgrade to the kit cockpit. But like all resin products it has those nasty casting blocks that you have to cut off. This one has quite a thick block under the cockpit tub itself as illustrated in the instruction. 

IMG_0707_zpsd6pkr7wa.jpg

This is quite a tedious task I am completing with a jeweler's saw and a razor saw covering myself in quite a lot of white dust. One word of caution for anyone who wishes to do this themselves. Take your time because they do not leave much room for error.

IMG_0705_zpsi2qb0vgy.jpg

More to come folks. 

Cool!  The color used in US Navy Jets during that time frame was Dark Gull Gray FS 36231 and you lighten/darken to taste or weather.  Black ejection seats and black instruments on a dark Gull Gray Instrument panel.  I myself used to use A/C interior black in the MM range or Tamiya Nato black is also nother good color, with grays to dry brush etc.

Andy

Edited by titan8251