Trumpeter, 1/32-scale P-51D

Allok

I've just finished the kit. The engine is quite nice and will look great if detailed up with wire etc, it needs careful fitting though. Mine wasn't quite right which threw off the exhausts off and the spinner mounting. The wheel wells are wrong and copies most P-51 kits, i.e the main spar is depicted as the rear wall which follows the angle of the wheel well but it;s quite nicely detailed. The cockpit is adequate, just. It seems a bit basic but it's acceptable. It fit's together well and the surface detail is nice. As for accuracy, I'm not an expert, may I suggest the P-51 SIG.

Finished9email.jpg

More here

http://forums.europeanmodeller.com/index.p...=si&img=227

Allok - I posted the following on ARC. I clipped / taped / fitted the clear parts, canopy frame, and spinner together to assess the kit shape / accuracy...

...Let me qualify my input by stating that from 1971 to 1977 I serviced/maintained several mustangs in the U.S. and helped Darrell Skurich restore Jimmy Leeward's No. 9, "Cloud Dancer". I also helped restore David Price's "Cottonmouth". Needless to say I am picky about P-51 accuracy...

I purchased the Trumpeter P-51D and wish that I hadn't spent the money. While I agree to a certain extent that one could apply modeling skills to achieve greater accuracy, it just seems to me that, for this kind of money, and with the existence of the 1/48 Tamiya and Hasegawa models for guidance (or, I dare say, to copy in 1/32 scale), I should be able to buy a highly accurate 1/32 P-51D in the year 2008.

• The windscreen and canopy are about 75%-accurate representations. They are oversize. The separate canopy frame isn't deep enough. The windscreen is so large that the fuselage section between the front of the windscreen and the back of the engine compartment isn't long enough to display the hydraulic reservoir access panel. Note: The access panel appears on the Trumpeter P-51B.