The old Mosquito Restoration Project

Chris Wimmer

Hi everybody on LSP!

I must confess that I wasn't really a fan of the "Wooden Wonder" before. It rather happened on that one of the many evenings I scrolled down the 1:32 ebay content and suddenly spotted this old beauty. Built by a child in the 1970s, sitting there without its wheels and absolutely sorry looking- instantly my fingers began to itch like crazy and it took me only a few seconds more to buy the wreck at 5 Euros with the burning wish to bring it into a new life.

I joined this community yesterday, the build started about one year ago after I finished my "Another ole Revell Jug". You can search the "Articles"-section for it (or simply let Google do the job). Be warned that I'm a quite slow builder and my name is not Brian Cauchi, but I will try to do my very best...

Here we go!

IMG_7671a_zpsb7e1375b.jpg

IMG_7675a_zpsbd490cae.jpg

IMG_7680a_zpsafee4133.jpg

Now I feel honoured introducing you to the pilots of DZ 353. After 40 years in service I will release these guys into their well deserved retirement. They asked me to let them follow this build   :)    Does anybody know their names?

IMG_7667a_zpsfb86ce1e.jpg

The next step was sawing and milling the whole thing into pieces. Ouch, this really makes UGLY noises...

IMG_7696a_zps8e6981df.jpg

Ok, let's start construction. Not perfect, but good enough to my 47 years old eyes

IMG_7701a_zps922b71be.jpg

Made a new seat...

IMG_7702a_zps95d37b4f.jpg

Cockpit stuff. I love to place coins only to impress my non-modelling friends...

IMG_7786_zps65f5ee8f.jpg

IMG_8033_zpsa0c64365.jpg

Thank you, Kev! Had to learn that the upload limit is 10 pics. So here I have got something more to show:

Applied some paint. The green tone I used first turned out to be wrong. I tried to fix the problem and did a lousy brushing job...  :whistle:

IMG_8730_zps9f3f6aa4.jpg

the control column is wrong in shape. But somehow I like it. It's old Vintage Revell style, isn't it?