Revell Arado Ar 196 B 1/32

holzemjo

Hello folks, here comes my first WIP thread featuring Revell's Arado Ar 196 B! :frantic:  The Ar 196 A was the standard catapult plane of German warships during WWII and was equipped with two floats, the B version was equipped with one large central float and two small ones on the side:

Yl3AX0w.jpg?1

The set lets you build D-OVMB, which is the fourth prototype of the Ar 196, that was tested in Lubeck and Travemünde in 1938. Unfortunately, the plane crashed during a landing accident in december 1938 and was lost in an engine fire.

The kit gives you a lot of options for open panels and cowls, wings can be shown in flying position or swept back, etc... Since I am relatively new to the modelling business, I will have everything closed and the wings in the forward position, as this seems the easiest.

I am however using some aftermarket parts, namely the HGW seat and seatbelt set and the Eduard photoetch interior. I 'had to' (ok, I wanted to :innocent: ) order the Eduard set, because I ruined the kit decal for the instrument panel :oops:  and it was beyond my ability to paint it in any way that would look acceptable. The HGW set was ordererd, because the kit seats with the seatbelts moulded on joust wouldn't stand, they are hideous! Unfortunately, due to 'inexplicable reasons', the parcel with the Eduard set was sent back to the vendor TWO TIMES (thanks for nothing DHL :deadhorse: ), so I'm still waiting on that, it should finally arrive tomorrow! I don't think that I will use all the parts as I was already quite busy painting the interior and am quite happy with how some of it turned out. We will see...

So, what have I been up to? Well, mostly painting interior parts for now. Here's the cockpit floor with the two sides of the tubular steel frame:

CvwDcKS.jpg?1