Aussie Mossie, RNZAF Trainer

Anthony in NZ

Well, all this Mosquito action and discussion has made me finally buckle to the pressure and crack open this Tamiya kit. Having been one of the people involved with the kits development I figured I better build it!

I have decided to go with a slightly esoteric version of the Mosquito for this build and I suspect it wont be the last one I do. It is not going to be a Wolf Buddee type build....I cant compete with skills like that, but I do hope to do her justice.

I have just ordered the Master set for the kit which includes guns, cannon and pitot http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/361441001012?_trksid=p2060353.m2749.l2649&ssPageName=STRK%3AMEBIDX%3AIT

Although I wont be using the cannon I am sure I can use it on a future build...or just dream that some day there will be a 32nd Vampire I can use them in...lol!

Being a trainer I decided that I would need the Eduard interior set for another set of their lovely rudder pedals and some interior details that might be helpful. The guys at Tamiya have sent me another couple of sprues for my project as well, which will help in some areas of the cockpit.

Ok, where do I start with explaining the Trainer? The aircraft below is the aircraft I am modelling, NZ2308 an Australian built airframe. Built as an FB-40 (Australian version of the FB-VI with some differences)and converted to a dual control T43 on the production line.

scan0004_zps9oh0otxh.jpg

The T43 was interesting in that it is a bit of a mix between the T3 and the FB-VI. The T43 had the same bomb bay layout as the fighter bomber with separate bomb doors, but no cannon fitted. Machine guns were more often than not fitted. T43 also had the ability to catty drop tanks and RP rails. There was an extra elevator trim in the cockpit next to the instructor. There are other detail differences that I will try and cover off along the way.