Dental Acrylic use in modelling

Rich Go to your local beauty supply story. You can pick up the Cold Cure stuff in small bottles for experimenting. It is used to fill acrylic finger nails.  Use in a well ventilated room Use a Respirator mask. The powder ( Palomar ) and ( Monomer ) liquid are very flammable.   I have used the Dental types, Heat cure and Cold cure

For work as I work in the dental field. 

Hope this may be of help

Cheers

Danny

Edited by Vandy 1 VX 4

Great video from Paul! I've learned so much from him! Just amazed at his skills and ideas! Such creative solutions!!

I'm kind of surprised that LSP Matty hasn't introduced us to these dental products before ;) there really seems to be a use for some of these dental products and tools in our hobby! I might go and order some of that dental acrylic!

Cheers

Alan

• 2 weeks later...

I use one called pattern resin by GC Corp.  Its a cold curing resin that I use to build post and core patterns that then are cast in gold.  It cures very quickly, picks up any detail and can be fairly thin section but retain quite a degree of strength.  I used it on the wingroot trailing edge of my Laird Turner when I modified the shape of the kit wings.

It's hard to sand if you get it wrong though.

It's also good for gluing a flimsy wings in place.  A little acrylic inside the fuselage either side of the tabs holds the wing nicely.

Never knew the tip of mixing acylic powder with CA glue though.  Pauls a far more experienced modeller than I'll ever be.

I'd certainly recommend talking to a local dental technician who still makes dentures.  They ought to have some spare stuff lying around that's a bit out of date or not used any more.  Maybe an orthodontic lab for the clear stuff?

I did notice a few of the comments on the YouTube channel about how expensive this stuff is.  Knowing what some of our overheads are goes to explain why dental bills cop a lot of flak.

Cheers Matty